tryingtobeamanofgod

My name is Dwayne Peterkin. I was re-baptized April 2011 and since then I have been doing my best to obey the Lord Jesus Christ and do his will. In this sinful world IT IS NOT EASY to stand up for God. You'll be tested, friendships may fall by the wayside, old habits will fade away. I hope that as I share my Faith Walk, others are encouraged on theirs. I hope you join me on this journey.

My Story Part 1

Hello Friends,

As promised, here is my story – so that you will know who I was, Who I am and see what God has done for me.

Train up a child in the way he should go: and when he is old, he will not depart from it. Proverbs 22:6 KJV

I was born to two wonderful God fearing  Jamaican parents and raised as a Seventh Day Adventist.  I was raised in a good home, my parents were married  for 53 years until my Father passed last July – and that was the first major death in our family.  At 43 years old, I have had no dysfunctional childhood things to speak of, no abuses, no broken home, no major hardships. We weren’t rich, but we grew up not wanting for anything.  I guess you can say in that alone, I am blessed.

I was “the baby”, the last of 6 children.  So not having a younger sibling to take care of I guess I was always used to being taken care of and as I got older in years, my brothers and sisters can tell you I “got away with murder”.  I guess as a result it created a selfish person, because I never really had to share, or take care of anyone.  As I grew older I would always do whatever pleased me.  Kind of provide my own entertainment.

My early education consisted of Church school up to 5th grade.  Then, I was active in Pathfinders Club, the Youth Choir, I was also an Usher.  Church was all I knew then and I never had an issue with it. (Other than waking up early on Saturday and missing Saturday morning cartoons!)

At the end of Junior High School, (two days after 9th Grade graduation) we moved from New York to Florida.   I think for the next year I hated my parents.  You see I was about to start High School with all my friends, I just got my first girlfriend, I was extremely upset to put it nicely.

The one thing about moving to Florida that was good was the fact that my nephew (who is almost two years older than me) was already living there.  He used to stay with us in the summers in New York so we were (and still are) more like brothers than Uncle and Nephew.

Still in my funk from moving from New York, it took about a year to get adjusted.  In that time I had stopped drawing, running track, etc.   I had to  make all new friends.  Yeah, I thought moving to Florida was the worst thing ever.  I was mad at everything and on top of all that I still had to go to church. (I think I was even mad at God for the move!)  I eventually came to terms with myself towards the end of 10th grade and figured since I was stuck in Miami, I might as well make the best of it. But I swore to myself that I was going to move back to New York one day.

I was starting to make friends in school and I started to realize that life was not all that bad.

Church was actually starting to get good too.  There were a lot of youth at North Miami SDA church and we were all tight.  We hung out in church, after church, it wasn’t too bad.  My Mom would always say to me “you see the other children getting baptized? When are you going to get baptized?”  Every baptism she would say the same thing… I was like “I wish she’d stop harrassing me!”

I think here is where things start to go left….

Until later, Be Blessed!

Dwayne

Let the words of my mouth, and the meditation of my heart, be acceptable in thy sight, O LORD, my strength, and my redeemer. – Psalm 19:14 KJV

2 Comments»

  LeAnne wrote @

Awesome! I’m not very familiar with the seventh day adventist church, I have always been in a non denominational church or foursquare church. It sounds like it is all the same beliefs, and completely based on the Bible, so I think its very similar. I’ll keep checking it out, I’m interested to hear the rest of your story! Good job with the blog:)

  In Light Of The Cross wrote @

Funny! I missed the saturday morning cartoons too.


Leave a Reply

GameTime Logic

Excellence

True and faithful servant

A spiritual journey of truth and discovery.

Merciful Perspective

determined to love Jesus everyday

disciplegideon

spiritual truth through one man's eyes

Not Happenin' On My Watch | Blog

Some things just shouldn't be...

Settled In Heaven Blog

A text & video blog striving to honor Our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ through Bible lessons, devotionals, Sunday School studies and small group studies.

Living the Kingdom

Surrender, Simplify and Serve

A DEVOTED LIFE

Practical Daily Devotions for the Real World

Wake Up My Faith

My journey in daring to live by "faith alone". Come along and see what happens...

In Light of The Cross

William Earnhardt's Blog

One Day At A Time

A Devotional

mybroom

My Year - (asking 365 questions) - 'Bout Renewing Of Our Minds

Kat's in the Kitchen

Kat, Kitchen and Beyond

Men of One Accord

Just another WordPress.com site

