tryingtobeamanofgod

My name is Dwayne Peterkin. I was re-baptized April 2011 and since then I have been doing my best to obey the Lord Jesus Christ and do his will. In this sinful world IT IS NOT EASY to stand up for God. You'll be tested, friendships may fall by the wayside, old habits will fade away. I hope that as I share my Faith Walk, others are encouraged on theirs. I hope you join me on this journey.

Trusting in the Lord…

“Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths.”  – Proverbs 3:5,6

Welcome Back Friends,

I grew up hearing and saying those words in Proverbs for many years, and to be honest, I had not really  put that in to practice until last year.  You see I’ve always heard “Trust God!” “Cast your burdens on the LORD” but I was doing it wrong.

I was giving it to God and taking it right back.  When you truly cast your burdens on him – that bill, that situation at work, that relationship issue, etc. you have to leave it there.  Bring your burdens to the Cross and nail them there!! Nail them so you can’t take them back.

My oldest sister once told me “God doesn’t need your help, stop trying to help God out!” and it made so much sense.  How many times have you prayed and asked God for something and got right up off your knees and started worrying about it?  I’ve always heard “If you pray don’t worry – if you worry don’t pray!”

Matthew 11:30 says “For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.”

As I get in to the Final part of My Story (which will be part 4) I will explain that I was going through my Separation, my father was about to pass, I was about to leave a secure job to start a new one that I was not too certain about, and my home was on the brink of foreclosure. (plus more that I probably remember right now). At the same time, I was studying to be baptized.

As I was changing as a Man and becoming a child of God, in the midst of all this turmoil, I was at peace.  When I told one of my coworkers at the time that I was getting ready to leave the job after 3 years and explained to him what was going on in my life, he said “Wow! Dwayne, I never would have known you had so much going on by looking at you!”

You see I had so much going on that I KNEW I couldn’t handle it and only God could and help sustain me during that time.  I held on to knowing that  he was going to make me a New man and that he PROMISED to take care of me.  To this day he has proven Himself so many times over and he NEVER dropped me, or let me fall.   I am sooooo in debt to Jesus.  First for dying for me, second for all he has done for me and for the PEACE he has bestowed upon me.

As I stopped trying to work out situations I had no control over, stopped worrying about bills, etc.  I gave God my heavy burdens and took on his easy yoke and light burden.  To this day when things come up in my life I say “God you know you got this right?” I don’t like to add to the pile I’ve put at his throne, but the Bible tells us to, so I do.

“Give all your worries and cares to God, for he cares about you.” 1 Peter 5:7

Friends, we have to TRUST GOD 100%.  Not 50% not 98% – 100%!  It takes time and believe me I do not proclaim to be perfect. I am definitely a work in progress, but I try to catch myself when I try to “help God out”.

HE can handle it, I can’t.  (and I’m good with that!).

This is a major part of my Faith walk, Trusting in the LORD.  I feel like I am so stress free sometimes, because I know how the old me was worrying about things and trying to make something happen.  (When all I was really doing was stressing out myself and those around me, losing sleep, and raising my blood pressure!)

Friends, I invite you to give God your troubles, I KNOW he will come through for you.  He never changes he said he will take care of us if we come to Him and HE WILL.  I am living proof of that!

Until later….I’m just tryingtobeamanofgod…

Blessings,

Dwayne

1 Comment»

  Meesh wrote @

Praise God for your choosing Him! Enjoy your daily Walk. It’s the best thing. Nothing’s more precious than time spent with God. 🙂


Leave a Reply

GameTime Logic

Excellence

True and faithful servant

A spiritual journey of truth and discovery.

Merciful Perspective

determined to love Jesus everyday

disciplegideon

spiritual truth through one man's eyes

Not Happenin' On My Watch | Blog

Some things just shouldn't be...

Settled In Heaven Blog

A text & video blog striving to honor Our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ through Bible lessons, devotionals, Sunday School studies and small group studies.

Living the Kingdom

Surrender, Simplify and Serve

A DEVOTED LIFE

Practical Daily Devotions for the Real World

Wake Up My Faith

My journey in daring to live by "faith alone". Come along and see what happens...

In Light of The Cross

William Earnhardt's Blog

One Day At A Time

A Devotional

mybroom

My Year - (asking 365 questions) - 'Bout Renewing Of Our Minds

Kat's in the Kitchen

Kat, Kitchen and Beyond

Men of One Accord

Just another WordPress.com site

