tryingtobeamanofgod

My name is Dwayne Peterkin. I was re-baptized April 2011 and since then I have been doing my best to obey the Lord Jesus Christ and do his will. In this sinful world IT IS NOT EASY to stand up for God. You'll be tested, friendships may fall by the wayside, old habits will fade away. I hope that as I share my Faith Walk, others are encouraged on theirs. I hope you join me on this journey.

My Story Part 3 (New York Part 1)

Hi Friends,

I read Parts 1 and 2 of My Story to my Mom and she is totally blown away by it.

It reminded her of how she spent all that time on her knees praying for me and wondering where I was, what I was doing, and when I was coming home.

(What my Mom did not know at the time I was back at home was that I was going out and drinking and smoking with my friends. Meanwhile, friends I went to school with started selling drugs and running guns, I got offers to fly drugs out and around the country, Some of my friends were dying getting shot up in drug deals.  My mom was praying for me to get out of Miami and she told me the other night  that when she saw me packing to go to New York she was so happy that I was leaving Miami and that her prayers were answered.)

When I came back from New York after my Sister said I could live with her, I had several phone interviews set up and I just had to have a face to face with one company and I would be hired. So I packed up my stuff in Miami and took the Autotrain to New York. I arrived and I was so happy…I was in!!! Or so I thought, you see I really didn’t think of drug testing then and when I failed the test I was wondering what I would do next. I pounded the pavement and finally landed a job after a week or so and started making some serious money.

Now earning more money than I ever had in my life, I started to think that I did it myself and I was able to drink and smoke all I wanted. With money came the rims on the car, the toys, etc.

Notice that I have not mentioned God anywhere here because I think when I went back to New York I tried to lose all the religion in me.  I don’t think I ever went to church,  During this ttime I met girls and I dated a few with out ever pursuing any relationship with the idea of permanence.  As a result, I got caught up in the fast paced life style and I could not be still.  I bounced from relationship to relationship, using good women and taking more than I was giving,

I could not see how I was living and how I let the devil just use me to use others and hurt other people.  I wasn’t evil in my relationships, but I wasn’t Godly either.  Along the way I became a father.  That changed my life dramatically. I was now responsible for a human being!

It made me slow down – a little.

Until next time … I’m just tryingtobeamamofgod….

Blessings!

 

2 Comments»

  In Light Of The Cross wrote @

You write with a candor that makes it easy to relate because it is so real.

  Dwayne “tryingtobeamanofgod” Peterkin wrote @

I thank God for the way he is working through me that allows me to relate in this manner…Thanks for the feedback!


Leave a Reply

GameTime Logic

Excellence

True and faithful servant

A spiritual journey of truth and discovery.

Merciful Perspective

determined to love Jesus everyday

disciplegideon

spiritual truth through one man's eyes

Not Happenin' On My Watch | Blog

Some things just shouldn't be...

Settled In Heaven Blog

A text & video blog striving to honor Our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ through Bible lessons, devotionals, Sunday School studies and small group studies.

Living the Kingdom

Surrender, Simplify and Serve

A DEVOTED LIFE

Practical Daily Devotions for the Real World

Wake Up My Faith

My journey in daring to live by "faith alone". Come along and see what happens...

In Light of The Cross

William Earnhardt's Blog

One Day At A Time

A Devotional

mybroom

My Year - (asking 365 questions) - 'Bout Renewing Of Our Minds

Kat's in the Kitchen

Kat, Kitchen and Beyond

Men of One Accord

Just another WordPress.com site

