tryingtobeamanofgod

My name is Dwayne Peterkin. I was re-baptized April 2011 and since then I have been doing my best to obey the Lord Jesus Christ and do his will. In this sinful world IT IS NOT EASY to stand up for God. You'll be tested, friendships may fall by the wayside, old habits will fade away. I hope that as I share my Faith Walk, others are encouraged on theirs. I hope you join me on this journey.

The Crucible and the Sword

A crucible is defined as a ceramic or metal container in which metals or other substances may be melted or subjected to very high temperatures:

It is also defined as a situation of severe trial.

I am no stranger to struggles, and no stranger to disappointment.  It seems for most of my adult life I have been juggling like crazy. I’m used to the juggling, but lately, my prayer has been for God to keep the balls I’m juggling in the air!  It could be that I’m trying to meet a deadline, trying to stretch a dollar, or maybe I’m putting out a fire.

I don’t ask God not to have the struggles, because I believe that they are the things that make us stronger. I just pray that I see that the challenges or disappointments are the strengthening.

My Father told me that my faith walk would not be easy.  He said “Dwayne once you decide to follow God you will have a target on your back.”  Satan hates people who chose to put God first in their life and he will test them.  In Jamaica My Father was a foundry worker for some time working with molten steel and he spoke to me of  the refining process and the huge crucibals holding that hot molten steel.

In that conversation we talked about how a sword is made, how the  steel is heated, hammered, cooled then heated, hammered, cooled and repeated until that steel gets so strong!

And this hope will not lead to disappointment. For we know how dearly God loves us, because he has given us the Holy Spirit to fill our hearts with his love. Romans 5:5

That is the faith walk Brothers and Sisters, the trials, the challenges, the faith, the prayer, the victory –  the strengthening of the relationship with God.  We need to have Hope.

Friends, do not get discouraged, but be happy when the trials come. Know that the Lord is giving you an opportunity to grow and be strengthened.  Just like that sword, you may get heated, feel like your being hammered, but when you cool down you will be stronger.  And when God is finished polishing you and shining you up, you will be beautiful… a sight to behold.

Whatever is going on in your life right now know that Jesus is our crucible, he is holding that molten steel and is going to refine us into something beautiful if we put him first in ALL things.

Be Blessed!

Until later, I’m just tryingtobeamanofgod.

Let the words of my mouth, and the meditation of my heart, be acceptable in thy sight, O LORD, my strength, and my redeemer. Psalm 19:14

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

GameTime Logic

Excellence

True and faithful servant

A spiritual journey of truth and discovery.

Merciful Perspective

determined to love Jesus everyday

disciplegideon

spiritual truth through one man's eyes

Not Happenin' On My Watch | Blog

Some things just shouldn't be...

Settled In Heaven Blog

A text & video blog striving to honor Our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ through Bible lessons, devotionals, Sunday School studies and small group studies.

Living the Kingdom

Surrender, Simplify and Serve

A DEVOTED LIFE

Practical Daily Devotions for the Real World

Wake Up My Faith

My journey in daring to live by "faith alone". Come along and see what happens...

In Light of The Cross

William Earnhardt's Blog

One Day At A Time

A Devotional

mybroom

My Year - (asking 365 questions) - 'Bout Renewing Of Our Minds

Kat's in the Kitchen

Kat, Kitchen and Beyond

Men of One Accord

Just another WordPress.com site

