tryingtobeamanofgod

My name is Dwayne Peterkin. I was re-baptized April 2011 and since then I have been doing my best to obey the Lord Jesus Christ and do his will. In this sinful world IT IS NOT EASY to stand up for God. You'll be tested, friendships may fall by the wayside, old habits will fade away. I hope that as I share my Faith Walk, others are encouraged on theirs. I hope you join me on this journey.

The PASSION…

At this the Easter weekend, I felt the need to post this – Something outside of Easter Baskets and Easter Egg hunts…”the reason for the season” as it were.

The definition of the word PASSION according to Merriam-Webster is: a : the sufferings of Christ between the night of the Last Supper and his death b : intense, driving, or overmastering feeling or conviction and d : an object of desire or deep interest

Oh how God loves us! One of the most quoted verses in the Bible is John 3:16 – “For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life.”  I always put John 3:17 with it because it really completes the whole thought and the concept of salvation. “For God sent not his Son into the world to condemn the world; but that the world through him might be saved.” 

When we we were created, God gave us the power of choice.  We have to choose to follow him and accept his Gift.  You see there is nothing we can do to earn the Gift of Eternal Life we have to make that choice to accept Jesus as our Lord and Savior.

For me, I think that John 3:17 really describes the PASSION of Christ.  Using the dictionary definition of Passion illustrates that John 3:17 shows that we (man created in God’s image) are the object of desire for Christ.  He wanted to save us from Sin and Eternal Death so God sent his Son Jesus to live the perfect life here on earth and to be the perfect sacrifice so that we can be saved from Sin and have the opportunity to have Eternal life. He doesn’t desire one of us to be missing, but He knows not all will make that choice.

This Sabbath was Communion in my church.  In our communion service we reenact the ordinance of humility or the “foot washing” ceremony as Christ did before the Last Supper.  The washing of the feet was usually reserved for servants as it was considered a lowly task to do.  Imagine the King of Kings and Lord of Lords, humbling himself to wash the dusty feet of his disciples.

My friends taking part in that ceremony helps you to understand Christ’s Love for us.  Then to take part in eating the bread which is the symbol of Christ’s body and to drink of the ceremonial wine that is His blood.  It just puts you into  the zone of the PASSION.

If you have never seen the movie The Passion of the Christ  (click to see the trailer) I suggest you watch it.  It is very graphic but it had to be.  It shows what Jesus endured for all mankind.  If you ever need a Spiritual Reality Check, watch the movie.

When I see Easter watered down, marketed, and packaged for sales in stores, it really hurts me to know how people could just ignore what Christ did and want you to just buy Chocolate Easter bunny crap! (excuse my passion!)

Friends, we need to have a passion for Christ like He has for us.  All it takes is to say “YES” to his gift and plan for salvation.  We need to have that intense, driving, or overmastering feeling or conviction for Jesus.

I can go on and on about this subject but I think you get my point. I hope you remember the PASSION.  If you have not chosen Jesus Christ as your Lord and Savior, consider it.  He has already died for you.

Remember brothers and sisters, I am not a theologian,  I am not a Pastor, I am just tryingtobeamanofgod.

Blessings,

Dwayne

1 Comment»

  Dwayne “tryingtobeamanofgod” Peterkin wrote @

Reblogged this on tryingtobeamanofgod and commented:

Reblogging….Blessings!


Leave a Reply

GameTime Logic

Excellence

True and faithful servant

A spiritual journey of truth and discovery.

Merciful Perspective

determined to love Jesus everyday

disciplegideon

spiritual truth through one man's eyes

Not Happenin' On My Watch | Blog

Some things just shouldn't be...

Settled In Heaven Blog

A text & video blog striving to honor Our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ through Bible lessons, devotionals, Sunday School studies and small group studies.

Living the Kingdom

Surrender, Simplify and Serve

A DEVOTED LIFE

Practical Daily Devotions for the Real World

Wake Up My Faith

My journey in daring to live by "faith alone". Come along and see what happens...

In Light of The Cross

William Earnhardt's Blog

One Day At A Time

A Devotional

mybroom

My Year - (asking 365 questions) - 'Bout Renewing Of Our Minds

Kat's in the Kitchen

Kat, Kitchen and Beyond

Men of One Accord

Just another WordPress.com site

