tryingtobeamanofgod

My name is Dwayne Peterkin. I was re-baptized April 2011 and since then I have been doing my best to obey the Lord Jesus Christ and do his will. In this sinful world IT IS NOT EASY to stand up for God. You'll be tested, friendships may fall by the wayside, old habits will fade away. I hope that as I share my Faith Walk, others are encouraged on theirs. I hope you join me on this journey.

A Near Death Experience (Divine Protection)

“For he shall give his angels charge over thee, to keep thee in all thy ways.” Psalms 91:11

Easter Sunday morning my son had basketball practice.(if you don’t know by now I worship on the Sabbath (Saturday) so the church league had practice on Sunday.)

It was a beautiful morning in the Tampa Bay area so I decided to put the top down on the convertible and have a nice drive into Tampa on I-275.  We arrived at the church gym for practice and also being that it was the second Sunday of the month that is the day we prepare food to feed the homeless.

My son practiced, I prepared meals and we had a great morning, the day was still as beautiful as ever and we had another beautiful topless ride on the highway home.

Later that day my mother asked me to drop by her house because my brother was in town.  Cool, no problem as she only lives a mile from my house.  It was nearing the time to take my son home, so and I got in the car and headed to mom’s house before we took I-75 down to my sons house.  My mom has a very small dip in her driveway and then there is a slight incline.  As I pulled in to her driveway  at all of 2 MPH, I heard a LOUD “CRACK!!”  My cars axle broke in my mom’s driveway!

Suddenly everything going on in my life did not matter, all I could think about was how I was riding up and down I-275 at 70MPH all day.  It was only divine protection and intervention that prevented that axle from breaking at any other point in the day.

My family has a tradition that we never travel without asking for Divine Protection from dangers seen and unseen.  I am thankful for my heavenly angels are on the job because instead of writing this post, someone could have been writing my obituary. (And/Or my son’s for that matter).

When I was at the Men’s Retreat last month the keynote speaker Pastor Pierre Eddy Laguerre spoke of Death with this statement:

“This aspect concerns life as well.  This aspect of Life is a reminder that challenges us to make the best possible use of each moment of our lives.”

I am glad I serve a Risen Savior that loves me and protects me.  It draws me closer to Him knowing that He is not ready for me or my son and that with the “bonus time” we have been given, we need to make the best possible use of it.

Friends, don’t waste time, don’t assume you will be here on this earth forever.  No man is promised tomorrow.

God has given us each a choice as to how we want to live.  I think for me Joshua 24:15 says it best:

“And if it seem evil unto you to serve the LORD, choose you this day whom you will serve; whether the gods which your fathers served that were on the other side of the River, or the gods of the Amorites, in whose land you dwell: but as for me and my house, we will serve the LORD.”

Until Later…I’m just tryingtobeamanofgod!

Blessings,

Dwayne

1 Comment»

  In Light Of The Cross wrote @

God’s timing is always perfect and preserved your life. For this we are all glad!


Leave a Reply

GameTime Logic

Excellence

True and faithful servant

A spiritual journey of truth and discovery.

Merciful Perspective

determined to love Jesus everyday

disciplegideon

spiritual truth through one man's eyes

Not Happenin' On My Watch | Blog

Some things just shouldn't be...

Settled In Heaven Blog

A text & video blog striving to honor Our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ through Bible lessons, devotionals, Sunday School studies and small group studies.

Living the Kingdom

Surrender, Simplify and Serve

A DEVOTED LIFE

Practical Daily Devotions for the Real World

Wake Up My Faith

My journey in daring to live by "faith alone". Come along and see what happens...

In Light of The Cross

William Earnhardt's Blog

One Day At A Time

A Devotional

mybroom

My Year - (asking 365 questions) - 'Bout Renewing Of Our Minds

Kat's in the Kitchen

Kat, Kitchen and Beyond

Men of One Accord

Just another WordPress.com site

