tryingtobeamanofgod

My name is Dwayne Peterkin. I was re-baptized April 2011 and since then I have been doing my best to obey the Lord Jesus Christ and do his will. In this sinful world IT IS NOT EASY to stand up for God. You'll be tested, friendships may fall by the wayside, old habits will fade away. I hope that as I share my Faith Walk, others are encouraged on theirs. I hope you join me on this journey.

Step Outside the Comfort Zone…

Hi Friends, Brothers and Sisters,

It has been a few days since I last posted so I was anxious to get back and share with you all.  First of all Happy Birthday to my son and myself…we are one year old in Christ. Amen!

I have been reflecting on what has gotten me to where I am today and how I try  to be a better man of God every day.  Admittedly some days are better than others but each day I say as in Psalm 118:24 “This is the day that the LORD has made; let us rejoice and be glad in it.”  No matter what can happen in a day if you follow the words of Proverbs 3:6 “In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths.” you will not have anything to worry about.

The Holy Spirit inspired me to write about being stuck in our comfort zone today. I feel like in this past year of my Spiritual life I have really gone out of my comfort zone.  In the past I was that pew warmer in church.  Have you ever heard that 20% of the people in church do 80% of the work?  well I was never in the 20%, I was always in the 80%.

When the sermon was over and the Benediction was done I was one of the first people out the door.  I didn’t want to talk to anyone, I was trying to do anything.  I put my couples hours in and I was out.

As the Holy Spirit worked on me over time and after Baptism, I have found that I have a need to keep that fire in me to keep me going.  As a result, I have found myself doing things I never would have thought of a year ago.  One reason is that since I have been born again,  I have not said “No” when asked to be of service.  I will tell you that I have been blessed in so many ways because of it.

I started doing the sound in the church on the once a quarter, then I started cooking for and going out to feed the homeless with a sister church, I started leading out in my weekly Growth Group, I was elected Men’s Ministry Leader and I am in a Disciple Makers group.  I had no idea I would be available and willing to do so much for the Lord.

I have gotten outside of my comfort zone and I find myself learning new things and meeting new people.  People I would never have met if I had said “no”.  As humans we are creatures of habit.  We can get up in the morning at the same time, where the same clothes, eat the same breakfast, take the same way to work, do our work the same way, eat the same lunch, etc.  (You get the point!)

Over time you will become a robot.  No feelings, no spark, no fire!.  Friends I encourage you to go out your comfort zone and see what happens.  Now I am not saying to go out and do something crazy, what I am saying is to trust the Lord and take a chance to speak to that homeless person, sit in another pew at church, speak to that visitor, that person you see all the time but don’t know.  Go where your heart leads you to. You just may find a blessing in it.

Make your life fresh and new.  What may have been working for the last 5, 10 or 20 years of your life may not be relevant anymore.  Putting God first is so much fun because if you allow yourself to be used, He will put you in amazing places and situations.

For example the other evening I meant to go to my usual gas station but for whatever reason I missed my turn and went to a different gas station.  As I got my gas and exited the station, out the corner of my eye I saw an elderly woman   pushing a shopping cart full of cans in the grass.  She was having a real hard time. So I took half a second to think of it and I busted a U turn so I could go and help her.  As I parked my car and started making my way towards her, I saw a woman in a Minivan who must have seen every thing that I just did and she smiled as she saw me walking in the woman’s direction.  I helped the woman get the cart to the sidewalk and offered further assistance to her but she said she just wanted to get the cart on the sidewalk.  She was soooo happy! She told me “God Bless You” and I told her “God bless YOU!” she smiled and went on her way.  All I could think of was Matthew 25:40 “And the King will say, ‘I tell you the truth, when you did it to one of the least of these my brothers and sisters, you were doing it to me!’  

I was happy to help the woman, but I think I thought about the woman in the minivan and wondered what seeing that did for her.  Did she see the Love of God through me? Will she pay it forward?  It feels good to be used for God’s glory.  We are his hands on earth and in order to be used we need to go outside our comfort zone.  It doesn’t take much but it takes a willing heart prepared to be used.

I encourage you all to go outside your comfort zone in all areas of your life through Jesus Christ..you won’t know what you are missing until you try it.  Who knows you just may like where he takes you!

Until later….I’m just tryingtobeamanofgod!

Blessings,

Dwayne

Let the words of my mouth, and the meditation of my heart, be acceptable in thy sight, O LORD, my strength, and my redeemer. Psalm 19:14

3 Comments»

  In Light Of The Cross wrote @

Wonderful lesson and congratulations for getting our of your comfort zone!

  Kim wrote @

Dwayne,
I must say that I am so amazed by what God is doing in your life.I have enjoyed reading about how God has changed you. When I saw your baptism picture, it all became so real. I was brought to tears. Keep the faith. I’m praying for you.

Kim

  Dwayne “tryingtobeamanofgod” Peterkin wrote @

Yes, God is Good!!! Thank you for your prayers!


Leave a Reply

GameTime Logic

Excellence

True and faithful servant

A spiritual journey of truth and discovery.

Merciful Perspective

determined to love Jesus everyday

disciplegideon

spiritual truth through one man's eyes

Not Happenin' On My Watch | Blog

Some things just shouldn't be...

Settled In Heaven Blog

A text & video blog striving to honor Our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ through Bible lessons, devotionals, Sunday School studies and small group studies.

Living the Kingdom

Surrender, Simplify and Serve

A DEVOTED LIFE

Practical Daily Devotions for the Real World

Wake Up My Faith

My journey in daring to live by "faith alone". Come along and see what happens...

In Light of The Cross

William Earnhardt's Blog

One Day At A Time

A Devotional

mybroom

My Year - (asking 365 questions) - 'Bout Renewing Of Our Minds

Kat's in the Kitchen

Kat, Kitchen and Beyond

Men of One Accord

Just another WordPress.com site

