tryingtobeamanofgod

My name is Dwayne Peterkin. I was re-baptized April 2011 and since then I have been doing my best to obey the Lord Jesus Christ and do his will. In this sinful world IT IS NOT EASY to stand up for God. You'll be tested, friendships may fall by the wayside, old habits will fade away. I hope that as I share my Faith Walk, others are encouraged on theirs. I hope you join me on this journey.

Recharged and Refocused

Hi Friends!

Fresh from my weekend in Augusta, GA I am Recharged and Refocused!  I went to visit an old friend who I went to high school with.  He is a preacher now and he was hosting a Men’s program and it was excellent.  When we spoke early last week and he invited me up to GA, I looked into flying from Tampa but the flights were too expensive.  I figured it wasn’t going to happen, but let me tell you – when God wants you to be somewhere, He makes it happen!

So I didn’t secure a flight, but I did secure a rental car…(Ok, a plug for Dodge here, the 2011 Charger is all that!! True american muscle!! If I could afford one I’d buy it!)

Seeing my friend brought back many memories.  Many of them about the “bad boy” years at University of Florida and beyond.  (See  My Story Part 2)  On the other side of that coin it made me see the Goodness of God!  Because both of us said we should have been dead or in jail!!  Which reminds me – in part of My Story,  I failed to mention that when I was in Miami (when I used to run the streets late at night) my Mom told me that my Dad used to say “one day they are going to drop Dwayne on the door step in a body bag!”  (Was I really that bad??)

Anyway, it was amazing for us to be riding in a car going to church together! Not riding dirty like the old days, Two men getting together to praise the Lord and to encourage each other on our Faith Walk.  Proverbs 27:17 says As iron sharpens iron, so one man sharpens another.  I truly got sharpened this weekend.  The added blessing was that my son was with me.  Two men and their sons going to seek the Lord…Awesome!

There were Four speakers at the program, They Spoke of sowing  good seed,  Love is Action, Witnessing and winning souls for Christ in these last days, And the power we have as heirs to the Kingdom of God.  I cannot begin to tell you how renewed I feel… Each speaker truly expounded on their topics and shared their life stories. This visit truly added fuel to my fire and my passion for the Lord!

In the last year of my life, I believe my Spiritual foundation has been formed and solidified. After this weekend,  I believe God is revealing his plan for me.  I pray that I continue to grow at an even deeper level than this past year,  and that I can share this fire and passion for the Lord with all the Men of my church as well as all I come in contact with.

As Men, God has called us to be the best we can be in all of our relationships, as Heads of our houses, as Fathers,  as Husbands, as Bosses, as Employees, etc.  We need to seek him first in all things. We should be living for Him that died for us and doing His will and His work as His hands here on earth.

There is so much power in the Word of God and we need to seek Him first in ALL THINGS and read His Word daily.  I feel that as Men (and as Christians) we all need to get recharged and refocused to do what we have been called to do: “And he said unto them, Go ye into all the world, and preach the gospel to every creature.” Mark 16:15  Let’s get busy!!!

Until later….I’m just tryingtobeamanofgod!

Blessings,

Dwayne

           

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

GameTime Logic

Excellence

True and faithful servant

A spiritual journey of truth and discovery.

Merciful Perspective

determined to love Jesus everyday

disciplegideon

spiritual truth through one man's eyes

Not Happenin' On My Watch | Blog

Some things just shouldn't be...

Settled In Heaven Blog

A text & video blog striving to honor Our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ through Bible lessons, devotionals, Sunday School studies and small group studies.

Living the Kingdom

Surrender, Simplify and Serve

A DEVOTED LIFE

Practical Daily Devotions for the Real World

Wake Up My Faith

My journey in daring to live by "faith alone". Come along and see what happens...

In Light of The Cross

William Earnhardt's Blog

One Day At A Time

A Devotional

mybroom

My Year - (asking 365 questions) - 'Bout Renewing Of Our Minds

Kat's in the Kitchen

Kat, Kitchen and Beyond

Men of One Accord

Just another WordPress.com site

