tryingtobeamanofgod

My name is Dwayne Peterkin. I was re-baptized April 2011 and since then I have been doing my best to obey the Lord Jesus Christ and do his will. In this sinful world IT IS NOT EASY to stand up for God. You'll be tested, friendships may fall by the wayside, old habits will fade away. I hope that as I share my Faith Walk, others are encouraged on theirs. I hope you join me on this journey.

Broken

As I sat down to create this post, I had something in mind I wanted to write about, then the Holy Spirit inspired me to write something else!  Here goes…

Psalm 51:17  says “The sacrifice you desire is a broken spirit. You will not reject a broken and repentant heart, O God.” (NLT)

I think about my Faith Walk and how, until I became broken, I couldn’t fully accept God and He could not use me for His will.  As I look back on the year and a half since I have been re-baptized and look at what He has been able to accomplish through me I stand amazed.

How many times have you heard someone say that losing their job was the best thing that ever happened to them?  That being broke financially turned someone into a millionaire? That the end of a marriage made way for new love?  That being spiritually desperate led someone to Jesus?  It seems that the greatest blessings come from (what at that time is perceived as) the worst situations.   Sometimes it takes losing it all in order to gain the most.

Sometimes God allows us to be broken to get our attention. 

Psalms 34:18 says “The LORD is close to the brokenhearted and saves those who are crushed in spirit.”  and Psalms 147:3 says “He heals the brokenhearted and bandages their wounds.”

Sometimes it is God’s plan for us to experience trials so that He can reveal Himself to us.  Only when we accept Him and allow him to turn those battles into victories can we truly experience God’s love and plan for us.

So whether you or someone you know is Spiritually broken, Financially broken, Heartbroken, Lost their job, etc…know that it may be God’s way of gaining attention so that He may be proved.  Trials will come, I can promise you that, but I can also promise you that if you trust God to deliver you He will, no question!

Did you know it is a fact that shattered glass reflects more light than regular glass?  If you allow yourself to live in the Light of God, I promise that your former shattered life will reflect more of His light to others than you ever will without Him.

Friends, don’t wait until you are broken to seek God, He is always there waiting to receive you and pour out  His blessings on you if you will only seek Him.  The next time a major trial happens in your life, before you say “God why did this happen to me?” stop and think if God may be trying to get your attention and allowing you to be broken so you will call on Him so He can fix you.

Remember I am not a theologian, I am not preaching, I just try and relate my experiences to others as I have learned them.  I’m just tryingtobeamanofgod…

Blessings!

Dwayne

2 Comments»

  Men of One Accord wrote @

Very good post young man! One of the best things I can recommend is to find a group of Godly men who pray together and let them become apart of your life. I have been walking with Jesus for 23 years now. Praying with other men is what helps my walk stay strong. May your always seek the face of Jesus in all that you do AMEN! James

  Dwayne “tryingtobeamanofgod” Peterkin wrote @

Thank you James for the kind words. I am praying with some men at my church and I am about to start a Men’s life group as well. Please keep me in your prayers! and I will pray for you as well.

Blessings!!

Dwayne


Leave a Reply

GameTime Logic

Excellence

True and faithful servant

A spiritual journey of truth and discovery.

Merciful Perspective

determined to love Jesus everyday

disciplegideon

spiritual truth through one man's eyes

Not Happenin' On My Watch | Blog

Some things just shouldn't be...

Settled In Heaven Blog

A text & video blog striving to honor Our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ through Bible lessons, devotionals, Sunday School studies and small group studies.

Living the Kingdom

Surrender, Simplify and Serve

A DEVOTED LIFE

Practical Daily Devotions for the Real World

Wake Up My Faith

My journey in daring to live by "faith alone". Come along and see what happens...

In Light of The Cross

William Earnhardt's Blog

One Day At A Time

A Devotional

mybroom

My Year - (asking 365 questions) - 'Bout Renewing Of Our Minds

Kat's in the Kitchen

Kat, Kitchen and Beyond

Men of One Accord

Just another WordPress.com site

