tryingtobeamanofgod

My name is Dwayne Peterkin. I was re-baptized April 2011 and since then I have been doing my best to obey the Lord Jesus Christ and do his will. In this sinful world IT IS NOT EASY to stand up for God. You'll be tested, friendships may fall by the wayside, old habits will fade away. I hope that as I share my Faith Walk, others are encouraged on theirs. I hope you join me on this journey.

YOLO (You Only Live Once)

A few weeks ago a rapper tweeted “YOLO” when he was drunk driving and drifting around a corner doing 120mph, just moments before he hit a brick wall and died along with 3 friends in his car.  He was in his twenties I believe, and when I read the article it hurt me to think of how someone can take life so lightly. He thought he was on top of the world, controlling his own destiny and living life to the fullest.  I was in pain in the loss of young lives. Young men who never got to reach their full potential because of poor judgement…bad choices.

The sad part was that the rapper was wrong.  Thanks to the shed bl0od of Jesus Christ, if you accept Him as your Lord and Savior, YOLT  (You only live twice!)  I am living proof of that!  I’ve said it many times over the last two years that “I am not the man I used to be!”

Ephesians 4:24 in the New American Standard Bible says“and put on the new self, which in the likeness of God has been created in righteousness and holiness of the truth.” 

Through baptism by immersion we go under the water to die and be united in Christ in His death so we may live life anew like the Resurrected Savior Jesus Christ.  As a result of my new life, among other things, the way I chose to react and interact with people and situations have changed.

People I think I know (or People who I think know me I can say) have thrown me  under the bus and I am so glad that I have learned that I don’t have to say or do anything, because the Lord fights my battles for me.   I am so glad that I do not live, think, or react like I have in the past. I have let so many things go. I don’t have to be right, I don’t have to make my point. I don’t need to make someone look bad so I look good. Ephesians 4:29 in the New Living Translation says “Don’t use foul or abusive language. Let everything you say be good and helpful, so that your words will be an encouragement to those who hear them.”   

That may sound like a small thing, but it’s huge!  If you can, through Jesus, start to live and think like Him, study His Word and understand how He intended us to live, when you just live to spread love and peace and you trust in the Lord for ALL your needs, what a liberating life you will have.  That is truly living life to the fullest.

I’m not saying I’m better than anyone, I’m saying I’m better than I was! Living in the Light is a wonderful thing and clean and sober living is better than any night of drinking and partying that I experienced in my past.

I don’t need to go on and on, but I wanted to write this post as a Thank You to Jesus, that YOLT and I’m loving it and I’m not taking it for granted.

Until next time. (and I promise it won’t take me so long to post) I’m just tryingtobeamanofgod!

Blessings!

Dwayne

Let the words of my mouth, and the meditation of my heart, be acceptable in thy sight, O LORD, my strength, and my redeemer. Amen! Psalm 19:14 KJV

 

2 Comments»

  The Prodigal Daughter wrote @

Its sad and tragic when people wave a fist at God and believe that they own their lives. Tsk, too young and too reckless.:( but if we look around us, that rapper was not alone, there are a lot who waste their lives “living the life”. Sad.

  Dwayne “tryingtobeamanofgod” Peterkin wrote @

True! So True.


Leave a Reply

GameTime Logic

Excellence

True and faithful servant

A spiritual journey of truth and discovery.

Merciful Perspective

determined to love Jesus everyday

disciplegideon

spiritual truth through one man's eyes

Not Happenin' On My Watch | Blog

Some things just shouldn't be...

Settled In Heaven Blog

A text & video blog striving to honor Our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ through Bible lessons, devotionals, Sunday School studies and small group studies.

Living the Kingdom

Surrender, Simplify and Serve

A DEVOTED LIFE

Practical Daily Devotions for the Real World

Wake Up My Faith

My journey in daring to live by "faith alone". Come along and see what happens...

In Light of The Cross

William Earnhardt's Blog

One Day At A Time

A Devotional

mybroom

My Year - (asking 365 questions) - 'Bout Renewing Of Our Minds

Kat's in the Kitchen

Kat, Kitchen and Beyond

Men of One Accord

Just another WordPress.com site

