tryingtobeamanofgod

My name is Dwayne Peterkin. I was re-baptized April 2011 and since then I have been doing my best to obey the Lord Jesus Christ and do his will. In this sinful world IT IS NOT EASY to stand up for God. You'll be tested, friendships may fall by the wayside, old habits will fade away. I hope that as I share my Faith Walk, others are encouraged on theirs. I hope you join me on this journey.

Thirst No More!

drinking-water-charles-dey

The other day my son and I went to a fast food restaurant  for some drinks. He had the Strawberry Limeade and I had a Vanilla shake.  He was done with his drink in no time and was talking about how much ice was in the cup and how he was still thirsty.

I was thinking to myself that he should have gotten a shake, because while you have to suck your head off to finally get it through the straw, it sure lasts longer than the soda.  The shake was great, but upon finishing it, I found that I needed something to drink after it… (I was thinking about the Strawberry Limeade and wondering if I should have ordered it!)

While we temporarily satisfied our original thirsts, it was not long before we were thirsty again.  I thought about John 4:13-14 where Jesus was talking to the Samaritan woman at the well:

Jesus answered, “Everyone who drinks this water will be thirsty again, but whoever drinks the water I give him will never thirst. Indeed, the water I give him will become in him a spring of water welling up to eternal life.”

There are many things in life that people “thirst” for wealth, power, fame, etc…. material things. When they finally get what they are looking for, what they have been chasing, they find out that what they were seeking is only a temporary satisfaction.  Then they need to find that next thing to satisfy and the cycle continues…

Brothers and Sisters, let us drink from the Living Water that is Jesus.  Start your day with Devotion and Meditation on the Word, Pray often, Pray without ceasing!  This New Year make a commitment to spend more time with Him, because He is returning soon and we must be ready to meet Him.

Only He can satisfy and only He can quench your thirst!

Until later, I’m just tryingtobeamanofgod….Blessings!

2 Comments»

  Men of One Accord wrote @

Dwayne, It is so cool how God takes the little things in our life, turns it into a Bible story to make it real in our life. This lesson is forever weaved into your soul it is forever apart of who you are, only Yeshua Messiah can do that. Thank-you for sharing your Blessing, James PS blogger’s BBQ maybe October? We shall get together before that, please?

  Dwayne “tryingtobeamanofgod” Peterkin wrote @

James thanks for the encouraging words as always…October sounds great and yes we will meet up to put this thing together! Blessings!


Leave a Reply

GameTime Logic

Excellence

True and faithful servant

A spiritual journey of truth and discovery.

Merciful Perspective

determined to love Jesus everyday

disciplegideon

spiritual truth through one man's eyes

Not Happenin' On My Watch | Blog

Some things just shouldn't be...

Settled In Heaven Blog

A text & video blog striving to honor Our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ through Bible lessons, devotionals, Sunday School studies and small group studies.

Living the Kingdom

Surrender, Simplify and Serve

A DEVOTED LIFE

Practical Daily Devotions for the Real World

Wake Up My Faith

My journey in daring to live by "faith alone". Come along and see what happens...

In Light of The Cross

William Earnhardt's Blog

One Day At A Time

A Devotional

mybroom

My Year - (asking 365 questions) - 'Bout Renewing Of Our Minds

Kat's in the Kitchen

Kat, Kitchen and Beyond

Men of One Accord

Just another WordPress.com site

