tryingtobeamanofgod

My name is Dwayne Peterkin. I was re-baptized April 2011 and since then I have been doing my best to obey the Lord Jesus Christ and do his will. In this sinful world IT IS NOT EASY to stand up for God. You'll be tested, friendships may fall by the wayside, old habits will fade away. I hope that as I share my Faith Walk, others are encouraged on theirs. I hope you join me on this journey.

The Debt I Can’t Repay

debt

 

The last 24+ hours have been so amazing, more than that I can say in the last few months I have watched the Lord make major moves in my life and I am so thankful.  The apostle Paul stated many times that he would not boast of his works but he would boast of his shortcomings in the Lord.  By doing this, we minimize ourselves so that God can be glorified.

First I must say, The Lord provides! In previous posts I spoke of how God placed me in my apartment when I wasn’t working (and by His grace I’m still in it!) and He provided someone to furnish it for me.  (Amen!)  While I was given a bedroom set, I still needed a bed.  So It’s been a few months and I’ve never gotten around to getting the bed.  I’ll get back to that.

So now I’m working in Orlando so my commute is 85 miles each way. I had to sell my car just before getting laid off so I’ve been driving my dad’s old Jaguar which is nice, but not for commuting (93 Octane – 19MPG hwy if lucky)  so I need my own car. I’ll get back to that. If I’m not driving the Jaguar, I’ll drive my Mom’s car when she doesn’t need it.  I was driving her car today and the car was vibrating in the front and the vibration was getting worse as I was going to work so I was like “Lord just let me get to work and back today”.  (The Jag needs tires so I’m not trying to drive it until payday).  I’ll get back to that.

I’m transparent and some of you who read this know me. So since I’ve been rebuilding my life and finances for some time now and I was $2,000 from being debt free when I was unexpectedly laid off. (does anyone expect to be laid off?)  So it has been my goal to be debt free for some time and once again I’m very close to it. No credit cards, no car payments, no loans, you get the picture. Just a couple bad bills hanging around.

Proverbs 22:7 says “The rich rule over the poor, and the borrower is slave to the lender.” You see friends, God wants us to be lenders not borrowers!  Like I said I’ve been on that for some time now.  I’m still living check to check but I am starting to see the light at the end of the tunnel.  I’m no stranger to final notices, past due, disconnect, etc.  So I dream of what it would be like to be debt free.  Finally in the black! No one asking me for nothing! Calling my own shots!  Bills is getting paid! (I know how I said that!)

Getting back to the story…

So I have not been sleeping on a Sealy but where I am in life right now that is not in the picture, it’s coming, just not in the budget right now but my body has been saying “make it happen!” Saturday after I came from church I started to get the mail from my mailbox but I was like whatever is in there can wait it’s the Sabbath so it’s my day of rest and that’s not important.  Sunday afternoon I go to check the mail and there is a sign in the kiosk saying “Free Queen Size bed and frame”  I call and it’s available so I went and got it!  (1)

So here I am the week of payday or “broke week” as some may say and I’m just trying to make it to Friday. (Insert cat picture hold on Friday’s coming!) I not trying to drive the Jag because I need tires so I drive my mom’s car and the tires are vibrating.  I make it to work and the ride is slow and bumpy going home. I’m like “Lord just let me make it home!” Thankfully I make it home and I’m thinking about tomorrow. I pass by the tire shop and no cars are in the bays! They are about to close and I ask the guys can you put my good tires in the back on the front? He said we’ll look at it.  Turns out the tire is separating so it has to be replaced.  So I say “great I have no money for this!” The manager suggests putting on the spare but I am not driving almost 200 miles roundtrip on a donut tire.  He looks at me and says to his worker “look and see if there’s anything in the back”.  So the worker finds a used tire and the manager says “we’ll put that on for you”.  So I’m still thinking how I’m going to pay for this. After they finish I ask how much will it be. The manager shakes my hand and says “get out of here!” The worker says “Happy Holidays” (2)

So one of the guys from the church that we always talk cars tells me “Dwayne, I just bought a new Honda I got a great deal on it!   I said “nice did you trade in your Civic for it?”  He says “no I got such a good deal on the Accord I didn’t have to.  I thought you might be interested in it! It’s the HX model made for high mileage…40+MPG! (3)

I had some furniture in storage that I had taken to a consignment store a couple months ago. It’s been there so long I almost forgot about it and a week or so ago I prayed the Lord for someone to buy it.  I came home tonight and there is a check in my mailbox for the furniture! (4)

I am so in debt to Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior first for dying on the Cross, and for the ways in which He looks out for me… even in the small things! I CAN NEVER REPAY HIM!  He hears me when I pray, He knows what I need before I even ask!  God is awesome!

Since I got this new job I have for the first time in my life been able to consistently pay my tithe and He keeps blessing me over and over and taking care of me. Malachi 3:10 says Bring all the tithes into the storehouse so there will be enough food in my Temple. If you do,” says the LORD of Heaven’s Armies, “I will open the windows of heaven for you. I will pour out a blessing so great you won’t have enough room to take it in! Try it! Put me to the test!

I don’t say all this to say God is like a genie in a bottle or if you believe in Him he gives you things.  I say this all to give Him the glory for what He has allowed me to do for Him as I have given him charge of my life and that He takes care of those who put Him first.

He died for us so we can live for Him!

God is real and God is Love I say to try Him….You’ll be in debt!

Until later, I’m just tryingtobeamanofgod.

Blessings!

 

1 Comment»

  In Light Of The Cross wrote @

Wonderful! Wonderful! Wonderful!


Leave a Reply

GameTime Logic

Excellence

True and faithful servant

A spiritual journey of truth and discovery.

Merciful Perspective

determined to love Jesus everyday

disciplegideon

spiritual truth through one man's eyes

Not Happenin' On My Watch | Blog

Some things just shouldn't be...

Settled In Heaven Blog

A text & video blog striving to honor Our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ through Bible lessons, devotionals, Sunday School studies and small group studies.

Living the Kingdom

Surrender, Simplify and Serve

A DEVOTED LIFE

Practical Daily Devotions for the Real World

Wake Up My Faith

My journey in daring to live by "faith alone". Come along and see what happens...

In Light of The Cross

William Earnhardt's Blog

One Day At A Time

A Devotional

mybroom

My Year - (asking 365 questions) - 'Bout Renewing Of Our Minds

Kat's in the Kitchen

Kat, Kitchen and Beyond

Men of One Accord

Just another WordPress.com site

