tryingtobeamanofgod

My name is Dwayne Peterkin. I was re-baptized April 2011 and since then I have been doing my best to obey the Lord Jesus Christ and do his will. In this sinful world IT IS NOT EASY to stand up for God. You'll be tested, friendships may fall by the wayside, old habits will fade away. I hope that as I share my Faith Walk, others are encouraged on theirs. I hope you join me on this journey.

Expiration Date

expiration-date

 

I can’t believe that this is my first post of 2014.  I have been growing in the Lord while I have been away from you but I feel like there are not enough hours in the day. (can someone relate?)  Nevertheless I miss sharing with you all about God’s goodness and I have had this topic on my mind and I had to get this post out.

In my growth group tonight we talked about how the disciples woke Jesus up in the boat in the midst of the storm and they thought they were going to die and they said to Him: “Teacher, don’t you care if we drown?” He got up , rebuked the wind and said to the waves, “Quiet, Be still!” The wind died down and was completely still.  He said to His disciples, “Why are you so afraid? Do you still have no faith?” – Luke 4:38-40 

Whatever you are going through has an expiration date. It won’t last forever.  “This too shall pass!” It is so hard to see the outcome of a situation when you are in the midst of it.  There are so many sayings that I can insert here…”There is light at the end of the tunnel”, in Jamaica they say “one day, like one day”, etc. (You get my point.) Anything God brings us to, He sees us through. We need not worry how big the storm is, we will make it through whatever it is.  All we need to have confidence in our God and our faith.

How many storms in your life has God seen you through? 1? 2? 10? more? So why when the storms of finances, broken relationships, lost jobs, foreclosures, etc. come our way do we  get afraid and lose our faith? We panic, we worry, we forget the loving God we have that will see us through the storm if we just be quiet and be still.  Friend, we serve a mighty God and He has the power to command the wind and the waves in our lives to be still (and they will obey!)

It is so nice to know that in the midst of the storm, Jesus is right there with us and that all we have to do is call on Him and He will make it alright. Why stress yourself out and worry over things you cannot control. Call on Him in the storm, and I promise he won’t let you down. I leave you with the words of Ephesians 3:20,21 – Now to Him who is able to do far more abundantly beyond all that we ask or think, according to the power that works within us,to Him be the glory in the church and in Christ Jesus to all generations forever and ever. Amen. 

Until the next time, I’m just tryingtobeamanofgod.

Blessings!

 

1 Comment»

  A A wrote @

Quite true, and quite encouraging. Helps me to remember that perspective is an important thing.


Leave a Reply

GameTime Logic

Excellence

True and faithful servant

A spiritual journey of truth and discovery.

Merciful Perspective

determined to love Jesus everyday

disciplegideon

spiritual truth through one man's eyes

Not Happenin' On My Watch | Blog

Some things just shouldn't be...

Settled In Heaven Blog

A text & video blog striving to honor Our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ through Bible lessons, devotionals, Sunday School studies and small group studies.

Living the Kingdom

Surrender, Simplify and Serve

A DEVOTED LIFE

Practical Daily Devotions for the Real World

Wake Up My Faith

My journey in daring to live by "faith alone". Come along and see what happens...

In Light of The Cross

William Earnhardt's Blog

One Day At A Time

A Devotional

mybroom

My Year - (asking 365 questions) - 'Bout Renewing Of Our Minds

Kat's in the Kitchen

Kat, Kitchen and Beyond

Men of One Accord

Just another WordPress.com site

